Healthy Lifestyle Kick #Weekly Post 3

Ok so this isn’t exactly about beauty products but how you feel about yourself and how you look after your body certainly fits into the beauty category somewhere! Also, I know there are many others who have gone or going through the same thing. It’s also a way to keep me on track!

I have battled with my weight for as long as I can remember! As a child I was chubby even though I was the fussiest of eaters and didn’t eat an awful lot. At secondary school I was a size 14-16, I didn’t overeat but my diet wasn’t the healthiest of diets.

When I booked a girly holiday at the age of 18 I lost weight by going on the slimfast plan, I lost just under 2 stone. I still wasn’t eating a good balance of healthy foods whilst on this diet. I’d have the shakes for breakfast and lunch, maybe a banana as a snack and dinner would range from weight watchers ready meals to Dominos pizzas…not great at all! I did  join a gym at this time and went about three times a week.

When I started my job as a nanny I slowly got myself into very bad eating habits, which was probably due to boredom,as the kids were at school most of the day. I’m ashamed to say I would eat anything from dry cereal out of a box, to nutella out of the jar to lashings of golden syrup on toast. Needless to say the pounds piled on but not too swiftly as I was still using the gym. Throughout this period of time I went through short phases of trying to lose weight by joining weight watchers and  aiming to start the aitkens diet…neither of which worked as I didn’t have the motivation to stick to them.

Eventually I made a decision to go to university, where my diet wasn’t great but I wasn’t eating anything I could get my hands on through boredom. Again through this time I had spurts of healthy eating and doing exercise but not for long enough.

In 2008 I went through a break up which spurred me on to look my best and I lost weight through eating little and healthier. I also swam and ocssionally went for a jog. It was my final year of university and when I’d finished I moved back to my parents started a full time job. I managed to keep the weight off for over a year by eating more healthy and going for a jog two or three times a week.

In 2009 I moved to London to live with my current boyfriend and gradually managed to creep back into bad habits, eating junk and piling lots of weight on.

My friend is a personal trainer and over the summer I was chatting to her a lot oabout healthy eating as she is following a plan that entails no carbs or dairy and eating foods  as close to their natural form as possible. So lots of fruit and veg, lean meat and fish. None of that processed malarky like sausages!

I made a decision to make my eating habits much healthier and started this strict plan two weeks ago. My friend advised me to stick to it strictly for three weeks. I have been eating fruit for breakfast, chicken or fish with salad or steamed vegetables for lunch and dinner and the ocassional omlette. I’ve also been snacking on unsalted nuts (not peanuts) even though they are high in fat they fit into this protein rich diet. I’ve only been drinking water, tea or coffee and have replaced cows milk with almond milk. I really can notice a difference in how my body feels, I’m not bloated and haven’t suffered with any indigestion which I did an awful lot. I didn’t weigh myself prior to starting this as I was afraid to find out how much I weighed but also because my scales aren’t working! But I did take  measurements  from my bust, waist and hips and have already lost about three inches in total. I definately feel much better in myself and I’ve also started the couch to 5k running programme which is a 9 week programme getting you from not being a runner at all to being able to run 5km.

So now I am determined and looking at my eating habts as a lifestyle change rather than a diet. I’m not going to never have a pizza again or not have a pudding but I feel it’s about keeping on track after you’ve had a cheat day with chips or something, and not thinking’ I ate crap today so I’ll just carry on eating it’ which I believe was quite often my downfall in the past.

I will keep updates on here on how it’s all going, anyone else that is losing weight, please share your tips and inspiration 🙂

A couple of pics of the type of food I’ve been chowing down on…

One thought on “Healthy Lifestyle Kick #Weekly Post 3

  1. Nice one Lu, i’m glad to see that youre looking at it as a lifestyle change as we discussed, much more sustainable and fantastic that you’re feeling better within yourself as well as getting the results you want. Keep going! x

Leave a Reply

